Book Online or Call 850-807-0587 For Reservations
Call-in Code: DBW

Powered By:

Crab Island Excursion (Departing From Destin Harbor)

View
All
5 stars
176
4 stars
22
3 stars
13
2 stars
6
1 star
10

Cruise to the popular hangout "Crab Island" aboard a comfortable catamaran. Chill out and play in the pristine, sparkling waters while the crew takes care of everything. Bring your favorite beverages and water toys to enhance the experience. Meet and greet with fellow boaters and explore all the exciting things to do. This trip is the perfect alternative to renting a boat, or those not experienced enough to drive a pontoon boat.

Activity Highlights

  • 3 and 4-hour excursions to Crab Island
  • See dolphins and other marine wildlife
  • Socialize and relax with the locals and other tourists while wading around the sandbar
  • Enjoy the scenic views to and from Crab Island

What's Included

  • Emergency life jackets

What to bring

  • Camera
  • Suntan lotion
  • Sunglasses
  • Personal cooler for food and beverages
  • Towel
  • Bathing suit
  • Cash (for snack and beverage purchases)
  • Alcoholic beverages are allowed on the boat, but glass is prohibited.

Restrictions

  • Children under 18 must be accompanied by a paying adult.
  • Only emergency life preservers are on the boat. Guests that wish to have more comfortable life jackets must bring them.
  • Large parties over 15 are asked to make reservations at least 24 hours prior to departure.
  • This trip requires a minimum number of participants to depart, which varies by season. If the minimum is not met, an agent will call to reschedule or offer a full refund.
  • Glass bottles are prohibited.
  • The boat is not wheelchair accessible.

Additional information

  • There is a restroom on the boat.
  • Free parking is available.
  • Snacks and beverages are available on-board for purchase (cash only).
  • Children under 2 are FREE, but need to be accounted for during booking.
  • The tour boat has a maximum capacity of 49 passengers.
  • If weather or wind is unfavorable for the tour, another day will be scheduled or opt for a full refund.
  • Holiday Weekend Cruises last an additional half hour.

Cancellation policy

Customers may cancel at least 48 hours prior to their arrival date to receive a full refund minus a $5 service fee. Customers that cancel after the 48 hour period will not be eligible for a refund. If the captain calls off the tour due to weather, the tour may be rescheduled for a later time/date or a full refund will be issued. Customer may make changes to the reservation without any fees as long as it's outside the 48 hour cancellation period. No-shows will not be refunded.

Read what other TripShock! travelers think about the Crab Island Excursion (Departing From Destin Harbor). What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip. Only TripShock! customers may leave reviews. Please login to your reservation to post your review.

SunVenture 2

Review of Crab Island Excursion (Departing From Destin Harbor)

  • Robin Ruark Alabama, USA Aug 16 2019 10:21am

    Great experience from the ease in booking the excursion, Friendly and professional staff/crew as well as price point. Even though a jellyfish wanted in on some of the fun, it was a beautiful and relaxing day. We definitely will book again next time we’re in town.

    Verified TripShock! Traveler Review

Review list is filtered by the star count (2). Click here to reset this filter.

1-6 of 6
First
Last
  • Joe Burkhart USA about 4 months ago

    Sunventure II trip to crab island

    We took this trip on July 19th. There were 13 of us so we paid close to $600. It was the 4 hour tour. We were topd no glass bottles but people on the boat had glass bottles. My husband and I had to stand due to people sitting their items in the seats instead of holding them like it was stated to do. The captain said nothing. People were vaping marijuana on the boat and the captain said nothing. We got to the destination and one of my daughters stepped in and was stung almost instantly by a jelly fish. I know we were in the ocean but the jelly fish were so bad you could not enjoy the trip at all. Once she was stung, no one wanted to get in. Finally people did start getting in and almost everyone was stung. I think it should have been mentioned that the jelly fish were as bad as they were. I... read more

    Verified TripShock! Traveler Review
  • Management Response, about 4 months ago

    As the jelly population varies based on the tides, there is no way to predict when marine life will be present. We do apologize for the behavior of other guests aboard the cruise. We do have "no smoking" signs posted in various areas of the vessel.

  • Joseph Patrico USA about 4 months ago

    Don’t recommend

    Didn’t realize the boat dropped you in water and if you brought stuff that could not get wet or that you couldn’t carry through water it had to be left in the boat

    Verified TripShock! Traveler Review
  • Management Response, about 4 months ago

    As listed on our listing, on our website, and on other channels, Crab Island is an underwater sandbar. On your confirmation it does state that SunVenture Cruises is taking you to this beautiful destination and you are to bring waterproof items for belongings, or you can store items safely on the boat. Our catamarans stay at Crab Island the entire time so that you can leave belongings on the boat and get on and off the vessel at your leisure.

  • Brianna Hines USA about 1 year ago

    Crab island is overrated

    Crab island is overrated. Yes, its cool that theres a bunch of vendors floating on the water but its really just a bunch of people standing around in knee-level water drinking. Theres really not much to do other than eat and drink. The captain was nice but the boat leaves you with a long walk to get to everything and really isnt worth the price. All they do is drive you 15 mins to crab island. Youre better off getting there another way for a cheaper price.

    Verified TripShock! Traveler Review
  • Management Response, about 1 year ago

    Hi Brianna! Crab Island is one of Destin's top attractions for both locals and visitors. Before there were vendors, Crab Island was known as a great place to simply relax and enjoy the waist-deep crystal waters. Our captain tries to position the boat in a convenient location for all of our guests as many vendors are spread out. Our crew provides service for three hours as they stay with you at Crab Island. Our rates are the most cost effective way of visiting Crab Island where a boat will stay with you the entire time. Additionally, there is a restroom on board and our crew assists our guests during the duration of the tour.

  • Billie Meek USA about 1 year ago

    CRAB ISLAND REVIEW

    We thought CRAB ISLAND was a very BIG let down ‼️ According to all the reviews we read it was suppose to be this amazing place where the water is beautiful & crystal clear & there’s all these playground water toys to play on‼️ Well there were playground toys but you had to pay for them if you wanted to pat

    Verified TripShock! Traveler Review
  • Management Response, about 1 year ago

    Hi Billie, Crab Island is definitely one of the most unique attractions in Destin and the water typically is crystal clear, but sometimes weather and currents can have an effect on the water clarity. I'm sorry that mother nature didn't give you a better experience, but hopefully we see you next time and that the water is back to it's usual self. You can always bring your own flotation devices, snorkeling gear, etc on this trip but you also may want to bring cash because there are quite a few vendors out there offering activities, rentals, food/drinks, etc. Thanks again for sharing your feedback and booking with us. TripShock! Guest Service Manager

  • Charles Tice USA about 1 year ago

    Unfair - 3 hour tour was an hour - no dolphin tour -

    We weren’t completely satisfied we paid $160 for two adults two kids for a three hour excursion. In the description it says Dolphin tour and then park at Crab Island. There was no dolphin tour period. While we were in the boat line for crab island luckily we did see a dolphin but just by chance. They did not take us on a dolphin tour. We left at 10ish got to Crab Island and out the boat by 10:35. We were not even there for a full hour when a storm came through and we all got back in the boat and went back to the harbor. Excursion over no refund no rescheduling no apology no lets park and see if it blows over. We work really hard to go on vacation we didn’t have the money just to blow on 45 minutes at Crab Island and no dolphin tour as stated and definitely not a “3 hour excursion”.... read more

    Verified TripShock! Traveler Review
  • Cristina USA about 2 years ago

    Not what I thought it would be

    Crab island is not an island. The boat ride was okay. I was expecting there to be land, hence the name, but to find out there use to be land and now it's a floating bounce house with bars and food...

    Verified TripShock! Traveler Review
1-6 of 6
First
Last
Note: It is the responsibility of the activity/tour company to ensure the accuracy of the photos displayed. Destin Boardwalk is not responsible for any inaccuracies in the photos.
to the top