Book Online or Call 850-807-0587 For Reservations
Call-in Code: DBW

Powered By:

Crab Island Excursion (Departing From Destin Harbor)

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Cruise to the popular hangout "Crab Island" aboard a comfortable catamaran. Chill out and play in the pristine, sparkling waters while the crew takes care of everything. Bring your favorite beverages and water toys to enhance the experience. Meet and greet with fellow boaters and explore all the exciting things to do. This trip is the perfect alternative to renting a boat, or those not experienced enough to drive a pontoon boat.

Activity Highlights

  • 3 and 4-hour excursions to Crab Island
  • See dolphins and other marine wildlife
  • Socialize and relax with the locals and other tourists while wading around the sandbar
  • Enjoy the scenic views to and from Crab Island

What's Included

  • Emergency life jackets

What to bring

  • Camera
  • Suntan lotion
  • Sunglasses
  • Personal cooler for food and beverages
  • Towel
  • Bathing suit
  • Cash (for snack and beverage purchases)
  • Alcoholic beverages are allowed on the boat, but glass is prohibited.


  • Children under 18 must be accompanied by a paying adult.
  • Only emergency life preservers are on the boat. Guests that wish to have more comfortable life jackets must bring them.
  • Large parties over 15 are asked to make reservations at least 24 hours prior to departure.
  • This trip requires a minimum number of participants to depart, which varies by season. If the minimum is not met, an agent will call to reschedule or offer a full refund.
  • Glass bottles are prohibited.
  • The boat is not wheelchair accessible.

Additional information

  • There is a restroom on the boat.
  • Free parking is available.
  • Snacks and beverages are available on-board for purchase (cash only).
  • Children under 2 are FREE, but need to be accounted for during booking.
  • The tour boat has a maximum capacity of 49 passengers.
  • If weather or wind is unfavorable for the tour, another day will be scheduled or opt for a full refund.
  • Holiday Weekend Cruises last an additional half hour.

Cancellation policy

Customers may cancel at least 48 hours prior to their arrival date to receive a full refund minus a $5 service fee. Customers that cancel after the 48 hour period will not be eligible for a refund. If the captain calls off the tour due to weather, the tour may be rescheduled for a later time/date or a full refund will be issued. Customer may make changes to the reservation without any fees as long as it's outside the 48 hour cancellation period. No-shows will not be refunded.

Check Availability/Book online

Read what other TripShock! travelers think about the Crab Island Excursion (Departing From Destin Harbor). What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip. Only TripShock! customers may leave reviews. Please login to your reservation to post your review.


Review of Crab Island Excursion (Departing From Destin Harbor)

  • Marissa Alicea Alabama, USA Jul 7 2019 08:28pm

    Verified TripShock! Traveler Review

Review list is filtered by the star count (1). Click here to reset this filter.

1-10 of 10
  • Shellyann Korniyenko USA about 5 months ago


    Verified TripShock! Traveler Review
  • Melinda Salcedo Alabama, USA about 5 months ago


    Verified TripShock! Traveler Review
  • Fred Edwards USA about 7 months ago

    $200 down the drain

    $200 for a family of 4 to go about half a mile to swim in the water was the worst experience while on vacation in Destin. The money could have been better spent on a nice dinner for the family.

    Verified TripShock! Traveler Review
  • Management Response, about 7 months ago

    Thank you for giving SunVenture Cruises a shot! As stated in your confirmation and on our website, Crab Island is simply a beautiful destination in the water and we take you to that destination with our Coast Guard-certified crew. The catamaran also has a restroom onboard. Our guests are welcome to bring floats and water toys or you can rent paddle boards, kayaks, and more once out at Crab Island. We're sorry that you did not enjoy one of the top destinations to visit in Destin, FL.

  • TAMMY SHEPPARD USA about 1 year ago

    Waste of $$

    Would never do that again. It was nasty and gross. You’re paying to go on a boat to waist-deep water and walk around and drink.

    Verified TripShock! Traveler Review
  • Management Response, about 1 year ago

    Hi Tammy, Crab Island is definitely one of the most unique attractions in Destin. Before there were vendors, Crab Island was known as a great place to simply relax. The water is typically crystal clear, but sometimes weather and currents can have an effect on the water clarity. I'm sorry that mother nature didn't give you a better experience, but hopefully you can join us again when the water clarity is better.

  • Yolanda Ceron USA about 1 year ago


    The excursión was cancelled and after 8 days I haven't gotten my refund.

    Verified TripShock! Traveler Review
  • Management Response, about 1 year ago

    Hi Yolanda! We apologize that the poor weather caused the cancellation of your excursion. Since you purchased your tickets through TripShock, you should be receiving your refund through them as well. We will contact their staff about your refund. If you do not receive the refund in the next 5 business days, please inquire with TripShock.

  • Robin Pate USA about 2 years ago


    The WATER WAS NASTY!!! It was a waste of money and time! Very disappointed

    Verified TripShock! Traveler Review
  • Catherine USA about 2 years ago

    refused to provide refund or reschedule after given wrong directions by new employee

    Due to a new employee giving us wrong directions we missed the entire excursion. The Booking manager Cynthia of Sun Venture cruises refuses to refund or reschedule us for our next trip to Destin even after explaining in full detail what occurred. ... read more

    Verified TripShock! Traveler Review
  • Tammie Miller USA about 2 years ago

    Awful Excursion!

    The pontoon drivers was very rude and behaved as if we were wearing on their nerves. They were rude to a mother who daughter was freakin out because of the jellyfish in the water. We wondered if they were suffering from hangovers because they definitely appeared to be annoyed since they ignored our questions. One of them even cursed when asked a question. Very unprofessional and disrespectful. Awful excursion!

    Verified TripShock! Traveler Review
  • Ruben Houston, TX about 3 years ago

    Would not recommend!

    This excursion was a waste of money and the captain & staff are a rip off. They parked way too far from the entertainment and $0.50 chips were a rip off at $2.00 each. Also way to many Jelly fish this past week. If you must go to Crab Island, rent a pontoon and have your own party

    Verified TripShock! Traveler Review
  • Michele Louisville Kentucky about 3 years ago

    Crab Island in Destin

    The boat was clean. The crew was fine. However, the cost of the boat ride was overpriced. Crab Island itself was nothing special. There were jelly fish everywhere. My family and I all got stung. The inflatable playground was really difficult for young kids. The whole excursion was a waste of $200. I would not recommend this trip.

    Verified TripShock! Traveler Review
1-10 of 10
Note: It is the responsibility of the activity/tour company to ensure the accuracy of the photos displayed. Destin Boardwalk is not responsible for any inaccuracies in the photos.
to the top